Local Professional Has Prescription for Success

Local Professional Has Prescription for Success

The Pharmacy Society of Wisconsin (PSW) is pleased to recognize Jordan Dow of Mayo Clinic Health System as the recipient of the 2021 Pharmacist of the Year Award.

Jordan is the Regional Director of Pharmacy for Mayo Clinic Health System, Northwest Wisconsin Region. In this role, Jordan oversees medication management and pharmacy services across five hospital locations and serves as the accountable leader for all financial, quality, safety, regulatory, clinical and operational aspects of pharmacy performance.

Jordan has consistently demonstrated a passion for advancing pharmacy practice and improving patient care through innovative, influential, and significant contributions. Jordan’s innovative and influential work started with his leadership in advancing pharmacy technician services during his residency at UW Health and continued at Froedtert Hospital. In these roles he led staffing model revisions, workload and workflow modifications, and quality and safety enhancements that engaged technicians and allowed pharmacists to practice at the top of their license.

Jordan’s efforts to improve patient care continued by engaging pharmacists across the continuum of care as the Regional Director of Pharmacy at Mayo Clinic Health System. His leadership engaging staff in decision-making, redesigning the pharmacist practice model to be more patient-facing, and supporting implementation of a single electronic medical record improved staff satisfaction and staff engagement. Engaged and enthusiastic staff provide better patient care. Under Jordan’s leadership, the pharmacy team has implemented admission medication history and discharge meds-to-beds programs which are recognized as exemplary for improving patient adherence and satisfaction. His team has been foundational in developing the medication management component of Mayo Clinic Health System’s revolutionary advanced care at home program. Jordan’s leadership has tripled the size of the Mayo pharmacy residency program and student rotation offerings, which means that more future pharmacy leaders will benefit from experience in his innovative and advanced pharmacy practice program.

Like many pharmacists, COVID19 challenged us to advance pharmacy practice to serve patients. Jordan coordinated the Eau Claire region and Mayo’s COVID vaccine response. His team facilitated vaccine storage, handling, distribution and assisted with administration to over 35,000 patients.

Richard Helmers, MD, the Regional Vice President of Mayo Clinic Health System, Northwest Wisconsin Region, said, “Jordan is a real role model to us all at Mayo Clinic Health System. He is a brilliant clinician, educator, and scholar with the highest degree of dedication and professionalism, every day. Our patients, providers, and leaders learn and benefit from Jordan every day.”

The PSW Pharmacist of the Year is an individual who has made significant, influential, and sustained contributions to pharmacy practice in Wisconsin and who is responsible for having a positive impact on patient care. Jordan will receive his award during the 2021 PSW Annual Meeting on Saturday, September 18 in Green Bay, WI.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.