Governor Recognizes Outstanding Service

Governor Recognizes Outstanding Service

Whether you have been doing this work for two years or twenty years, rest assured, the work you are doing is truly making our state a better place for Wisconsin kids, families, and communities everywhere.”

-Gov. Evers

Governor Tony Evers congratulated the honorees at the 2024 Governor’s Service Awards, stating that “So much of our local impact rests on the shoulders of dedicated volunteers and organizations such as yourselves, and we could not have the reach or influence that we do in this state without partners like all of you. Whether you have been doing this work for two years or twenty years, rest assured, the work you are doing is truly making our state a better place for Wisconsin kids, families, and communities everywhere.”

Highlighting the difference that the honorees made through their service, Serve Wisconsin Executive Director Jeanne Duffy reflected that “these individuals have gone above and beyond to make a difference in the lives of others. They  are assisting homeless youth, offering compassion and care to our vulnerable seniors, and ensuring our youth have the necessary resources, education, and love to thrive. Their selfless efforts have made a tangible difference in the lives of countless fellow community members.”

The Governor’s Service Awards honors outstanding Wisconsin volunteers, AmeriCorps members, AmeriCorps Seniors volunteers, and national service organizations that address serious social needs across Wisconsin. The 2024 ceremony recognized nine individuals and two organizations from throughout the state for their outstanding volunteerism and service and 28 AmeriCorps Seniors volunteers for reaching the milestone of twenty years of volunteer service in their communities. The awards were presented on May 15 in conjunction with the celebration of the 30th Anniversary of AmeriCorps in Wisconsin and were sponsored by Serve Wisconsin, the state commission for national and community service.

A recording of the ceremony is available at https://youtu.be/Fz_t7seW_og   

Additional information about the Governor’s Service Awards, including past winners, can be found at https://www.servewisconsin.wi.gov/governors-service-awards 

2024 Governor’s Service Awards Honorees

AmeriCorps Member of the Year

Kathryn Yang – Wisconsin Association for Homeless and Runaway Services at Pathfinders (Milwaukee)

AmeriCorps Alumni of the Year

Darnell Alexander Hamilton – served with Teach For America Milwaukee (Milwaukee)

AmeriCorps Seniors Volunteer of the Year

Jan Olmstead – RSVP of Rock County (Beloit)

AmeriCorps Seniors Lifetime Impact Volunteer

Carmen Kuss – Western Dairyland RSVP (Arcadia)

AmeriCorps Seniors Program of the Year

Encompass Early Education & Care Foster Grandparent Program (Green Bay and De Pere)

Marty Stein Friend of National Service Exemplary Supporter

Cindy Deckert – Southwest Wisconsin Community Action Program – Foster Grandparent Program (Dodgeville / Richland Center)

Volunteer of the Year 

Katelyn Baumann – Katelyn Baumann – Superior Public Museums Board,  Duluth Superior Area Community Foundation, and the Children’s Memorial Garden (Superior)

Volunteer of the Year 

Charles Fernandez Woodshop Mentors with RSVP of Portage County (Stevens Point)

Volunteer of the Year 

Roger Johnson – A Child’s Smile (Oconomowoc)

Volunteer of the Year 

Peyton Pascal – Eye Of A Child (Wauwatosa)

Volunteer of the Year 

Ken Saville – Easterseals Wisconsin (Madison)

AmeriCorps Seniors Volunteers with 20 Years of Service

ADVOCAP Foster Grandparent Program

Lucille Wuest

Northwest Wisconsin Community Services Agency RSVP

Judy Florence

Ann Marie Johnson

RSVP of Dane County

Phyllis Bacon

Judith French

James Jenkins

Glen B. Niesen

Janet M. Roche

Sylvia Roeder

Sally Ross

Ron Salinas

Eugene Smith

Julie Sutter-Blair

Connie Wall

RSVP of Portage County

Santha Bickford

Mary Blavat

Mary Klish

Sophie Kubisiak

Arden Lange

Jan Ronchetto

Patricia Trebatoski

RSVP of Rock County

Charlotte Johnson

Richard Johnson

Vicki Seichter

Volunteer Fox Cities RSVP

Jim Deimer 

Western Dairyland RSVP

Lois Fetting

Galen Hagen

Ruth Leahy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *