Local Counties Included in Grants for Housing Rehabilitation Efforts

Local Counties Included in Grants for Housing Rehabilitation Efforts

 Gov. Tony Evers today announced the award of $16 million of Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) Housing awards for critical housing rehabilitation projects for low- and moderate-income households spanning seven state regions.

“As I travel across the state, one of the things I hear about most from Wisconsinites is the importance of expanding access to reliable, affordable housing statewide,” said Gov. Evers. “Whether buying a new home or making essential repairs, there are thousands of families across Wisconsin who will be able to get help and support through these latest investments.”

Administered by the Wisconsin Department of Administration (DOA), Wisconsin’s Small Cities CDBG Program provides housing rehabilitation funds to seven regions on a bi-annual basis. These regional housing programs provide zero percent interest and deferred payment loans to low- and moderate-income homeowners to perform essential home repairs. Eligible households may also receive funds for down payment assistance when purchasing a home.

Regional CDBG Housing awards totaling $16 million were made to the following regions and lead counties:

  • Northwest Housing Region, Douglas County, $1 million
  • Northwoods Housing Region, Langlade County, $3 million
  • Central Housing Region, Juneau County, $2.5 million
  • Southern Housing Region, Columbia County, $2 million
  • Northeast Housing Region, Brown County, $1.5 million
  • Southwest Housing Region, La Crosse County, $3.5 million 
  • West Central Housing Region, Chippewa County, $2.5 million

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *